Spin the Wheel: Indie Music Wine Pairings, Reverse Edition

This week I’m going to pick the music to pair with given wines. This first one was inspired by Brian from Norcal Wingman, who suggested on my previous pairing post that my Jeniferever music video, what with all the snow and the chilly-looking guy trudging headlong through it, would pair well with an Eiswein. I had to agree, but it got me thinking about reversing this process.

Instead of choosing the wine to fit the music, I want to try to find a song that is the aural equivalent of a certain specific style of wine. I approached this idea briefly when I paired a Tokaji with “And You Lied to Me” by The Besnard Lakes, using the complex layered-guitar outro as a metaphor for the finish of a fine wine. Consider this an expansion of that line of thinking. First up? The Eiswein. If Eiswein were a music video, what would it be? I’m thinking “A Jagged Gorgeous Winter” by The Main Drag.

First of all, I just want to point out that the lead singers in the band are dressed as Calvin and Hobbes, and the rest of the guys are dressed as Snow Goons. That sets the stage for one of the silliest music videos I’ve ever had the privilege of watching. The music combines whimsical guitar, subdued bass, and electronic drums with a playful synth backdrop. The fact that they have people playing real instruments even though much of the music is very obviously programmed gives it that adorable sort of playing pretend feel that just accentuates the childishness of the video.

The lyrics themselves are a stream-of-consciousness jaunt through various childhood winter activities juxtaposed with college drama. There is absolutely nothing dark or mysterious about what they’re singing. Sure, they’re singing lines like “all the lies you told about me they were totally totally totally true,” but the general feel is more that all these relationship problems can be cured by a snowball upside the head, Susie Derkins-style.

Because of the sweetness of the music and the winter theme, of course I’m picking this song to match the Eiswein. Since I’ve been encountering a lot of white wine pairings with these music posts lately (not surprising, since the majority of my work music is uplifting and light-hearted), I’m going to strike out into red wine territory with a Primitivo. Let’s find a song that can embrace the juiciness that is a big red ripened in the long, hot Italian sun. My money’s on something from Alkaline Trio. Let’s try “Stupid Kid.”

Alkaline Trio is one of those bands that never quite settles with you. They play such gleeful, energetic music with fairly innocent lyrics, but there are always these ridiculously dark, almost ungodly undertones to their music. This music video is an absolutely perfect example of their music. Matt Skiba, the lead singer and lead guitarist, seems just a bit too manic as he sings about making relationship mistakes as a youth. The music video begins innocently enough with a child who struggles to fit in and develops a crush on his teacher. The last 30 seconds of the video, however, are a kick to the gut with how twisted it becomes.

A Primitivo is a bright, juicy, potent red wine, but there are always dark fruits present that keep the flavor from being too giddy. The ample Italian sun offers a fantastic ripeness to the wine that differentiates it from its Zinfandel cousin in other regions. It still has the ability to creep up on you with a high alcohol content, and it’s just a bit heavier than its rustic red fruit flavors would suggest. I’m actually drinking one as I watch this video!

3 Responses to “Spin the Wheel: Indie Music Wine Pairings, Reverse Edition”

  1. Brian Says:

    Hey Joshua,
    Thanks for the shout out. Thanks also for the fun eiswine pairing. Nothing gives me that warm fuzzy more than Calvin and Hobbes. Perhaps it was that those two (Calvin and Hobbes) played such an instrumental part in my High School life that I will always have a special place in my heart for them. What a great tribute to them…
    The conversation from the last Calvin & Hobbes:
    Calvin: Wow, it really Snowed last night! Isn’t it wonderful?
    Hobbes: Everything familiar has disappeared. The world looks brand-new!
    Calvin: A new year… A fresh clean start!
    Hobbes: It’s like having a big white sheet of paper to draw on!
    Calvin: A day full of possibilities!
    Calvin: It’s a magical world hobbes, ol’ buddy…
    Calvin: Let’s go exploring!

    Good stuff brother!
    Brian
    norcalwingman

    • wineaccguy Says:

      Oh yes. I had every single Calvin & Hobbes book growing up. I dutifully passed them down to my sister after I went to college. And no prob for the shoutout… I always credit my inspiration. Cheers!

    • wineaccguy Says:

      Also… if I ever have a band, I’m totally naming one of our songs “It’s a Magical World, Hobbes, Ol Buddy”


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

